Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2004 Articles » Dionysus - 2004 Anima Mundi
Dionysus - 2004 Anima Mundi

ARTIST: Dionysus
ALBUM: Anima Mundi
LABEL: AFM Records
YEAR: 2004


LINEUP: Olaf Hayer - vocals * Johnny Ohlin - guitars * Magnus 'Nobby' Noberg - bass * Kaspar Dahlqvist - keyboards * Ronny Milianowicz - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Divine * 02 Bringer Of War * 03 Anima Mundi * 04 Heart Is Crying * 05 What * 06 Eyes Of The World * 07 March For Freedom * 08 Closer To The Sun * 09 Forever More * 10 Paradise Land



There is something appealing about this band that has captured my curiosity and interest since listening to their 2002 debut 'Sign Of Truth'. OK, I'll admit it, I love this band. The way they can musically mix it up, retaining all the elements essential of a good hard rock band is enough to earn my respect. There are other aspects of course: a dedicated keyboardist, sonic guitarist, and way-cool album covers! What more could you want I ask you!! With their 2004 release 'Anima Mundi' (when translated means something like 'Soul Of The World' or 'Source Of All Life'), you get that and more.

The Songs
If you remember from my previous review of 'Sign Of Truth', this band have come together from various incarnations and musical lives. The resulting melting pot is rich with diversity, the band sound rather compelling, to me at least! The speed is still there, as is the melody, and those songs just keep whacking you in the side of the head seeking attention. For instance, the staggered beat of the opener 'Divine' pries open your aural center, just enough to astonish you with some galloping riffs last heard from that wonderful debut. Those galloping riffs can also be heard on 'Closer To The Sun', the tempo at the faster end of the scale. 'Bringer Of War' marches triumphantly upward, striking musical broadswords to anyone brave enough to stand in the way. Some swirling keyboards introduces us to the title track 'Anima Mundi', the overall mix switches between brutal melodic metal and slower grandiose passages.. the alternating effect not quite working in my opinion. Ohlin still manages to churn out those trademark Malmsteen/Le Tekro riffs, which keeps things very centered in melodic hard rock territory. In fact, if one was looking for a 21st Century extension of Yngwie Malmsteen's fabulous 'Odyssey' album, then this could possibly be it. One listen to tracks like 'Eyes Of The World' and 'My Heart Is Crying' and you'll be singing 'Deja Vu' before you know it. The ballad (yes there is one) is 'Forever More' and is a fantastic anthemic piece with a heap of beautiful keys supplied by Dahlqvist, while Hayer manages to nick a few Joey Tempest vocal stylings. Even though it's at the end of the album, the wait is well worth it!

In Summary
The band are set to appear at the 2004 Wacken Festival along with a handful of other great acts. For all you lucky Euro-metal fans out there lucky enough to go.. enjoy.. In the meantime, surf on over to The End Records, and pick up a copy of this excellent CD.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG