Robby Valentine - Separate Worlds

ExplorerExplorer England
edited December 2022 in Year-2020

Dutch maestro Robby Valentine returns with an album of contrasts mixing Pop/Rock with his love of the Classical works of Chopin etc

Robby Valentine - Separate Worlds
ARTIST: Robby Valentine
ALBUM: Separate Worlds
LABEL: Valentine Music Productions
SERIAL: RV202002
YEAR: 2020

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Netherlands Flag
LINEUP: Robby Valentine - All Vocals, All Instruments

TRACK LISTING: 01 Separate Worlds * 02 Invincible * 03 Where Did My Heart Go? * 04 How Could I Touch The Sky? * 05 Santa Zorra * 06 Waltz in C# Minor * 07 Nocturne In C# Minor * 08 I Can't Live Without You * 09 Flight Of The Bumblebee * 10 Waltz In Db Major * 11 Nocturne In Eb Major * 12 Winding Road

RATING: Score=95%
WEBLINKS: Site Link | FB Page


A new Robby Valentine album is always welcome for me, and it seems that Robby has been using his time recently in putting together, in his words a (Classical) Pop album. This is a very different album from his most recent releases and puts the emphasis firmly on his love for classical music, which as anyone with a passing interest in him will know that this is very much part of his musical makeup.

The Songs

Of the 12 tracks on the album, there are 6 that first appeared on the 'Peter Strykes sings Robby Valentine' album, which saw a very limited release back in 2009. The songs this time feature Robby taking over the vocals and are all really quite beautiful. There's no real rocking out here, it's all very much Robby doing big ballads, which he is so adept at executing.

'Invincible', is a delicate song that builds to a lovely climax, and 'Where Did My Heart Go? ', is a pastoral, yet bold sounding tune, whereas 'Santa Zorra' is a dramatic piece of Pomp and Circumstance that only Robby could pull off.

'How Could I Touch The Sky? ', is reminiscent of the likes of 'God' from his third solo album and is as good a rock ballad you'll hear this or any other year. 'I Can't Live Without You', once again is a dramatic piece and is something that I could quite easily picture Queen doing, and the last of the reworked songs is 'Winding Road' which is a stately, quite regal way to end the album.

Of the classical pieces on offer of which there are 5, all of which most people will be familiar with, and they all demonstrate just what a fantastic piano player Robby is, and it's easy to see where Robby gets a lot of his influences from. The only real new track on show is the album opener and title track, which is marvellous and is a perfect marriage of his classical and Pop/Rock influences; hence I guess why Robby was enthused to make this album.

In Summary

I make (or have made) no secret of my love of Robby's very singular approach to his music. It's big, bold, and bombastic and, I'll keep going with the 'b's' here, brilliant. The album is available to buy over at his official website, but as yet not appeared on any streaming sites.


Where Did My Heart Go?

All written content on this website belongs to copyright. Duplication elsewhere on the Internet is strictly prohibited, unless specific permission is granted.


  • ExplorerExplorer England
    edited November 2020
    Separate Worlds - the new 11 track classical pop album!
    "SEPARATE WORLDS" is not just the title-track of the new classical pop album Robby will be releasing soon - it also perfectly describes the fact that this style of music is a bit different from what Robby usually does.

    Besides the title-track the album will contain 10 other tracks highlighting Robby's love for classical (pop) music, including his interpretations of some of his favorite classical composers.

    "SEPARATE WORLDS" will be released digitally, on vinyl and CD. Pre-orders will be made available soon.
  • DaveTDaveT Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Sounds really good. I'm guessing which ones will Robby cover.
  • For a bit of variety how about something other than Queen?
  • ExplorerExplorer England
    edited December 2020
    Here`s the track listing, pre ordering info to follow soon.

  • gdazegodgdazegod Antipodes
    Japanese version landed a few days ago in both Download and Torrent Land.

    Track Listting:
    01. Separate Worlds
    02. Invincible
    03. Where Did My Heart Go
    04. How Could I Touch the Sky
    05. Santa Zorra
    06. Waltz in C# Minor
    07. Nocturne in C# Minor
    08. I Can't Live Without You
    09. Flight of the Bumblebee
    10. Waltz in D-flat Major
    11. Nocturne in E-flat Major
    12. Winding Road

    Japanese Bonus Tracks
    13. Where Did My Heart Go (Piano Version) [Japan Bonus Track]
    14. How Could I Touch The Sky (Piano Version) [Japan Bonus Track]
    15. Santa Zorra (Piano Version) [Japan Bonus Track]
    16. Invincible (Piano Version) [Japan Bonus Track]
    17. Separate Worlds (Piano Version) [Japan Bonus Track]
  • edited June 2021
    I bought the Japanese version of this cd today with the bonus tracks. It cost a lot so I hope I really like it . Malcolm has a knack for pulling you in with his reviews. =) He should be a salesman.
  • Thank you very much Chris..I’ll take that as a compliment =)
  • EmdaEmda Odenwald / Germany
    I have the standard Euro version, it's different but l really like it. Most of it is laid back and there are a couple of overblown ballads Robby's known for.
    I also think it has some elements of his classic United album but maybe that' s just my ears .
    Though, great review Malcolm!
  • Robby is currently recording new material. He’s recently posted that 2 songs are fully completed. I think he might be looking to release individual tracks rather than a full album as seems the fashion these days.
  • EmdaEmda Odenwald / Germany
    Thats good news. New music from Robby is always welcome.
Sign In or Register to comment.